Certified Relocation Specialist


To earn the Certified Residential Specialist (CRS) designation, every Realtor® must have significant experience and demonstrate volume of real estate transactions or gross sales, as well as complete rigorous educational requirements.

Focus on Home Buying and Selling

Every CRS designee is required to maintain membership in the National Association of Realtors® and to abide by its strict Code of Ethics.

Technology Expertise

The training available to CRS designees includes a strong focus on technology and its applications in the real estate business.

The Top 4 Percent

Only 4 percent of all licensed Realtors® are Certified Residential Specialists.

Median Income Much Higher*

The typical CRS designee earns an average income of $113,102 nearly three times that of a Realtor® who is a typical sales agent. On average, CRS designees each closed 45 transactions in a 12-month period.

*Source: Council of Residential Specialists’ 2001 Member Survey
Mission Statement & History

The Council of Residential Specialists is the largest not-for-profit affiliate of the NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS®, with its headquarters in Chicago, Ill. It is composed of nearly 40,000 Certified Residential Specialists (CRS) Designees and Candidates/General Members.

The association was created to attract and retain those REALTORS® seeking the knowledge, tools and relationship-building opportunities needed to maximize their income and professionalism in residential real estate.

The Council was founded in 1976 and has four objectives:

To enhance members’ continuing competence through providing superior educational opportunities in a cost-effective manner.

To provide and promote benefits which enhance the economic value of membership in the Council.

To create and maintain organizational systems and alliances with appropriate organizations to ensure the integrity of the Council.

To create and maintain procedures to ensure a standard of excellence that is required for earning the CRS Designation.